Talking Points: Part Deux

Bob Kauflin’s blog is such a great resource full of so much insight on http://www.worshipmatters.com. When I read one blog then it’s linked to another and another and another from different people who also have amazing insight.

For myself (and anyone else interested) I’m just going to a few of the links here that I have found useful at the moment based on the subject of “What Do You Say When You Lead Worship?” http://www.worshipmatters.com/2010/03/24/what-do-you-say-when-you-lead-worship-part-1/ This is the blog I have mentioned in Talking Points: Part 1. I was so excited that I’m not alone in thinking through this topic and it opened up a world of different advise, opinions and experiences. Some that I think are great, some not so. But this blog isn’t here to address what I disagree with….

Here is a link to a recorded talk with outline by Bob Kauflin http://www.sovereigngracestore.com/Product/A2361-07-51/What_Are_You_Talking_About_What_to_Say_When_You_re_Not_Singing.aspx   – I haven’t listened to the talk yet, but the outlines make sense.

The next part of the Worshipmatters blog.http://www.worshipmatters.com/2010/03/25/what-do-you-say-when-you-lead-worship-part-2/  I’m not like a massive follower trying to promote things, honest. I have just found these links really useful. In this one Bob gives these 4 points about why we should say anything when leading sung worship:

1 – to MAGNIFY

2 – to APPLY

3 – to CLARIFY

4  to INSPIRE

Scripture is also referred to as well which I will keep on going back to! Great!

Please let me just say that I think this last blog in the talking series is fab fab fab! http://www.worshipmatters.com/2010/03/26/what-do-you-say-when-you-lead-worship-part-3/ I do find it quite funny when he says “I’m aware that for many people reading the question posed in the title of this post, their immediate and firm answer is, “Nothing!”” Here Bob gives 10 practical points about the matter.

1. Recognize that God’s words outlast ours.

2. Plan the progression of songs so you don’t have to say that much.

3. Behold the beauty of brevity.

4. Brief phrases (spoken or sung) between lines of a song can accomplish the same goals as longer comments.

5. Varying the length, timing, sources, etc. of what you say can keep people from checking out mentally.

6. Don’t underestimate the value of preparation.

7. View testimonies, personal illustrations, and non-biblical quotes like spices – use them sparingly or they ruin the meal.

8. Don’t assume you have to play your instrument while you’re speaking.

9. Prayer is speaking, too. The same principles apply.

10. Ask others for feedback to find out how you can grow.

Another link I found useful when on this blog trail is by Nic Cross http://www.worshipleaderlab.com/2013/08/just-like-talk-good-and-stuff-tips-on-speaking-for-worship-leaders/ May I just say Nic what a great website address “Worshipleaderlab” awesome!

But from this link came this fab blog entry by David Santistevan http://www.davidsantistevan.com/public-speaking/ about public speaking as a worship leader. He has 5 practical things on how to improve:

1. Speak to one person

2. Plan

3. Engage feelings

4. Audition yourself

5. Know your audience (or congregation – sorry I’ll just inject my teeny response to that)

And then another one on this link trail is http://www.thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/tgcworship/2013/08/29/7-steps-to-speaking-in-congregational-worship/ I found this one interesting because it is from the point of view of a senior pastor rather than the worship leader. The points from the 7 that stood out for me were

1.) Read Scripture (2 Timothy 3: 16-17, Hebrews 4: 12, Psalm 1:2)

2)   Study Theology (1 Thessalonians 5:21, Acts 17:11, 1 Peter 3:15): It’s been said that next to the Senior Pastor of the church, the next best theologian on staff should be the worship leaders.  Why?  Because next to the senior pastor the worship leaders have the most time in front of the congregation shaping their theology through music.  Additionally, along with the music are the words they use to speak and encourage the congregation to worship.

5)   Practice (1 Corinthians 9:25)

6)   Depend Upon The Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:25)

7)   Relax (Hebrews 4:14-16)

 

Phew! So I’m not going mad when I sit at my piano and talk over my playing and pray and talk to God at times I feel led in order to also practise this skill for times when I will be prompted to say something in public!

I just love how this blog ends and I pray right now that myself and other worship leaders start to learn this and apply it when been given such a huge responsibility and privilege.

As worship leaders begin to fill their hearts and minds with scripture, and begin to wrestle with and chew on theology and sound doctrine, then they will be in a much healthier place and have a much larger set of tools to use when it is time for them to  open their mouths and speak at the corporate gatherings.  Worship leaders are more than musicians and they have a greater role than just singing songs and leading a band.

They are first and foremost believers who are called to glory in God by exalting Jesus Christ thru the power of the Holy Spirit.  They are called to know the Word and to seek out the depths and heights and breadth of the riches of his glorious grace.  As they live into the passionate pursuit of God it will overflow naturally into their role as a worship leader and thru practice they will begin to speak as effectively as they sing

Leave a comment